Map of Provence and Regions of France


Here is a map of Provence divided up into the main regions. We’ve used markers to highlight some of the places we talk about on our Provence pages.

It can get really confusing trying to understand all the different regions, provinces, and départements in Provence. We’ll explain it a little here, so hopefully it makes sense!

Map of Provence: Overview

The region of Provence France, officially called Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, has six départements (for a full list of regions of france, please see this page).


Map of Provence

Note: Webmasters are also welcome to reproduce these maps on their website, as long as the following link is included:

which produces Provided by France Travel Secrets.Com© 2009

These départements are (colour of markers on map are in brackets):

  • Hautes-Alpes (pink): This is the northern part of Provence. Mountainous area with lots of ski resorts and regional parks, such as the Ecrin National Park. Gap is the capital of Hautes-Alpes.
  • Alpes de Haute Provence (purple): Inland area in the middle of Provence, just below the Hautes-Alpes département. Highlights of this region include the famous canyons of Verdon.
  • Bouches du Rhône (yellow): The southern area of Provence. Marseille, Arles, St Remy, Les Baux, Aix en Provence, also covering the Camargue (green) and Luberon areas; and the wild coastlines of the Massif des Calanques.
  • Var (tourqoise): east of the Bouches du Rhône. This covers part of the south coast such as Toulon and St Tropez. Inland, you’ll find the Verdon canyons; as well as vineyards and truffle country.
  • Alpes Maritimes (red): Covering the south east of Provence including the French Riviera – Nice, Cannes, Antibes; and Grasse, world’s perfume capital. Inland you’ll find acres of vineyards, and where lavendar, thyme and olive oil are grown.
  • Vaucluse (blue): – Inland area north of the Bouches du Rhône département. This includes Avignon, Bonnieux, Carpentras, Gordes, Ménerbes, Orange, Vaison-la-Romaine, as well as the Luberon area and Rhône Valley.

Here are some other terms which you may come across:

  • Luberon: made famous by Peter Mayle’s A Year in Provence and used recently in the film starring Russell Crowe, A Good Year. Luberon refers to the mountain ranges which are mainly in the Vaucluse.
  • Mont Ventoux and Dentelles de Montmirail: mountain ranges in the Vaucluse region. Mont Ventoux is often called the ‘giant of Provence’ and overlooks the Rhône valley. The Tour de France passes through this area.
  • The Camargue: lakes and marshland south of Arles; Camargue Regional park has wonderful wildlife – such as pink flamingoes, black bulls and white horses.
  • The Drôme: Drôme, an area north-east of Orange, is technically a département in the Rhône-Alpes region (ie not Provence). But you will hear Drôme used in reference to Provence (Drôme Provençale) (confused? 🙂 )
  • Côtes du Rhône: this actually covers three regions – Languedoc-Roussillon, Rhône-Alpes, and Provence (in the Vaucluse département). The area is known for its vineyards (including the famous Châteauneuf-du-Pape).

Below is a map of Provence, including some more close up views. Click on the plus or minus buttons on the map itself to zoom in and out; click on the marker to get the destination name and for directions (although use these as a very general guide only).

Overall View

View Larger Map

Map of Provence: Close up of Bouches du Rhône

View Larger Map

Map of Provence: Close up of Alpes Maritimes

View Larger Map

Map of Provence: Close up of Vaucluse

View Larger Map

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *